The John C. Brogan Environmental Law Clerkship

Established by Gisela H. and Anja N. Brogan 

The John C. Brogan Environmental Law Clerkship was established in 2021 by Gisela H. Brogan and Anja N. Brogan to honor the memory of John C. Brogan and his service to the people of Wisconsin. 

John believed in service and had a deep sense of integrity and justice. He served two terms on the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Board under Governors Lucey and Earl, during which time he was instrumental in the clean-up and revitalization of the Fox River and the establishment of Whitefish Dunes State Park. He also served on the board of the Neville Public Museum, as well as the boards of the Packer Stadium Commission, the Green Bay Symphony, and the Izaak Walton League. He brought to these roles the same dedication, honesty, and integrity that he brought to all things.

Clerkship Awards by Year

Awarded to Sean Wagner-McGough, University of Colorado Law School

The 2021 John C. Brogan Environmental Law Summer Clerkship was awarded to Sean Wagner-McGough. In 2014, after earning a B.A. in political science from the University of California, Berkeley, Sean embarked on a career in journalism. His experience working as a journalist served as good preparation for law school by teaching him how to ask the right questions and effectively communicate complex issues. As a student at the University of Colorado Law School, Sean particularly enjoyed studying administrative law and the regulatory authority of state agencies.

-Anja Brogan